A workshop sponsored by ACM and the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

Langdale Hotel, Great Langdale, Cumbria, UK

23 - 26 September 1997

Paradigm shifts disrupt the status quo, destroy outdated ideas, and open the way to new possibilities. This workshop explores deficiencies of current computer security paradigms and examines radical new models which address those deficiencies. Previous years' workshops have identified problematic aspects of traditional security paradigms and explored a variety of possible alternatives. Participants have discussed alternative models for access control, intrusion detection; new definitions of security, privacy, secrecy and trust; biological and economic models of security; multiple policies; and a wide variety of other topics. The 1997 workshop will strike a balance between building on the foundations laid in past years and exploring new directions.

We offer a creative and constructive workshop environment for about 25 participants at the Langdale Hotel in the English Lake District.

Because of the workshop format, the organizers urge submitters to arrange to be present for all three days of the conference; authors' ability to attend for the duration of the workshop will be considered when evaluating submissions for acceptance.

Dress is casual. The tone of the workshop is exploratory rather than critical. The refereed papers will be printed in a workshop proceedings.

To participate, please submit the following, preferably via e-mail, to both Program Chairs (Mary Ellen Zurko and Catherine Meadows) by 4 April 1997:

  1. Your paper
    This should be either a research paper or a 5-10 page position paper. Softcopy submissions should be in Postscript or ASCII format.

    Papers may be submitted in hardcopy. To submit hardcopy, please mail five (5) copies to Program co-chair Mary Ellen Zurko; please allow adequate time for delivery; the hardcopy deadline is 28 March 1997.

  2. A justification
    This should describe, in one page or less, why you think your paper is appropriate for the New Security Paradigms Workshop. A good justification will describe which aspects of the status-quo security paradigm your paper rejects and which new model or models your paper proposes or extends.

  3. An attendance statement
    This should state how many authors wish to attend the workshop, and should indicate whether at least one author will be able to attend for the entire duration of the workshop.

The Program Committee will referee the papers and notify authors of acceptance status by 13 June 1997.

We expect a limited number of scholarships to be available.

More information will be provided on-line as it becomes available.

E-mail to:                         newparadigms97 at

use anonymous FTP from:  
           in directory:            /pub/new-paradigms


Steering Committee:

  • Tom Haigh
  • Bob Blakley
  • Mary Ellen Zurko
  • Catherine Meadows
  • John Dobson
  • Hilary Hosmer

Workshop Co-Chair:

  • Tom Haigh
    Secure Computing Corp.
    2678 Long Lake Road
    Roseville, MN 55113
    Voice: +1 (612) 628-2738
    Fax: +1 (612) 628-2701
    Email: Haigh at

Workshop Co-Chair:

  • Bob Blakley
    11400 Burnet Road, Mail Stop 9134
    Austin, TX 78758
    Voice: +1 (512) 838-8133
    Fax: +1 (512) 838-0156
    Email: blakley at

Program Committee Co-Chairs:

  • Mary Ellen Zurko
    The Open Group Research Institute
    11 Cambridge Center
    Cambridge, MA 02142
    Voice: +1 (617) 621-7231
    Fax: +1 (617) 621-8696
    Email: m.zurko at

  • Catherine Meadows
    Naval Research Laboratory
    Code 5543
    Washington, D.C. 20375
    Voice: +1 (202) 767-3490
    Fax: +1 (202) 404-7942
    Email: Meadows at

Program Committee:
  • Shaw Chuang, University of Cambridge
  • John Dobson, University of Newcastle
  • Steven Greenwald, Naval Research Laboratory
  • Steven Hofmeyr, University of New Mexico
  • Hilary Hosmer, Data Security, Inc.
  • Sverker Janson, Swedish Institute of Computer Science
  • Audun Josang, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Darrell Kienzle, University of Virginia
  • Tom Lincoln, Rand Corporation
  • Ruth Nelson, Information Systems Security
  • Pierangela Samarati, Universita di Milano
  • Cristina Serban, AT&T; Labs
  • Marvin Schaefer, Arca Systems
  • Chenxi Wang, University of Virginia
  • Mike Williams

  • Local Arrangements: John Dobson (Univ. of Newcastle), +44 (191) 222 8228
  • Scholarships:
    • Hilary Hosmer (Data Security, Inc.), +1 (617) 275-8231
    • Ravi Sandhu (George Mason University), +1 (703) 993-1659
  • Publications Chair: Bob Blakley (IBM), +1 (512) 838-8133
  • Publicity: Yvo Desmedt (Univ. of Wisconsin), +1 (414) 229-6762
  • Treasurer and Registration Chair: Dixie Baker (SAIC), +1 (310) 615-0305, Ext. 13
  • ACM SIGSAC Chair: Ravi Sandhu (George Mason Univ.), +1 (703) 993-1659
  • ACM Senior Program Director: Julie Goetz (ACM), +1 (212) 626-0610

Last modified: September 11, 1997