NSPW 2018: Program

Tuesday, August 28

6:00pm- 7:15pm Reception

7:15pm Dinner

Wednesday, Aug 29

7:45am- 8:50am Breakfast

9:00am- 9:30am Welcome and Social Contract

9:30am-10:30am Arguing for Argumentation in Break-the-Glass Scenarios
Matt Bishop, Carrie Gates, and Karl Levitt
Session chair: Simon Foley

10:30am-10:45am Break

10:45am-11:45am Against Mindset
Arne Padmos
Session chair: Lizzie Coles-Kemp

11:45am-12:00pm Break

12:00pm- 1:00pm Shifting Paradigms: Using Strategic Foresight to Plan for Security
Heather Vescent and Bob Blakley
Session chair: Olgierd Pieczul

1:00pm- 2:30pm Lunch

2:40pm- 3:40pm Can Software Licenses Contribute to Cyberarms Control?
Steve Dierker and Volker Roth
Session chair: Rene Rydhof Hansen

3:40pm- 4:00pm Break

4:00pm- 5:00pm Going Dark: A Retrospective on the North American Blackout of 2038
Prashant Anantharaman, Vijay H. Kothari, Jason Reeves, J. Peter
Brady, Michael C. Millian, Nathan Reitinger, Patrick Flathers,
William G. Nisen, and Sean W. Smith
Session chair: Karl Levitt

6:00pm-6:30pm History tour of the Cumberland Lodge

7:15pm Dinner

Thursday, Aug 30

7:45am- 8:50am Breakfast

9:00am-10:00am An Online Consent Maturity Model: Moving from Acceptable Use towards
Ethical Practice
Vivien M. Rooney and Simon N. Foley
Session chair: Wolter Pieters

10:00am-10:15am Break

10:15am-11:15am On Security Singularities
Wolter Pieters
Session chair: Cristina Serban

11:15am-11:30am Break

11:30am-12:30pm Rethinking the Proposition of Privacy Engineering
Aaron Ceross and Andrew C. Simpson
Session chair: Marco Carvalho

12:30pm- 1:30pm Lunch

1:40pm- 5:45pm Excursion: Tour of Windsor Castle

7:15pm Dinner


Friday, Aug 31

7:45am- 8:50am Breakfast

9:00am-10:00am After the BlockCloud Apocalypse
Mark Burgess and Anil Somayaji
Session chair: Matt Bishop

10:00am-10:15am Break

10:15am-11:15am Digital Signatures to Ensure the Authenticity and Integrity of
Synthetic DNA Molecules
Diptendu Mohan Kar, Indrajit Ray, Jenna Gallegos, and Jean Peccoud
Session chair: Steven Templeton

11:15am-11:25am Lightning Talk: Cryptomining on nspw.org
Eireann Leverett

11:25am-11:40am Break

11:40am-12:40pm Malicious User Experience Design Research for Cybersecurity
Adam Trowbridge, Filipo Sharevski, and Jessica Westbrook
Session chair: Anil Somayaji

12:40pm- 1:00pm Closing

1:00pm- 2:30pm Lunch